COSMOGIRL! MAGAZINE CLOSING

Hearst Magazines is closing CosmoGirl! magazine with the December issue being the last, reports WWD. The teen title it spun off from Cosmopolitan in 1999 and it’s subscriber base will now be folded into fellow Hearst title Seventeen.

Editor in chief Susan Schulz will be ‘staying on at Hearst to work on special projects,’ according to a company statement. The company declined to comment on how many other employees would be affected. Through October, CosmoGirl had 527 ad pages, down 15.5 percent from last year. Newsstand was off 18 percent in the first half of the year, to an average of 302,800, and total circulation was 1.4 million.

Are you HAPPY or MAD about it? Remember when their website said Vanessa Hudgens was arrested for drunk driving and everyone sent them hatemail?

63 Responses to “COSMOGIRL! MAGAZINE CLOSING”

  1. yeah. Says:

    thank god.
    peiceee of shittt

  2. Amber Says:

    i dont really care?

  3. never would have said forever Says:

    LOL WHAT

  4. Janna Says:

    it doesn’t really matter.
    at all.

  5. lalala Says:

    I am soo mad thats like my favorite magazine!!!!!!!

  6. Chelsea Says:

    The magazine industry is really just dead. I mean, why would I pay money for subscriptions if I can get all the gossip free online? And most that stuff in the magazines are a week or two old at least compared to the stuff on blogs. So I really don’t care that CosmoGirl is no more. I think I’ll survive.

  7. Dr.Pepper Says:

    i don’t really care
    i don’t read it anyway

  8. Jillian Says:

    Well I’m mad!
    Thats my fav. magazine, but in the past few months…its really stunk. Now I know why. I’m just really upset because I was trying to get an internship with them instead of Seventeen. Seventeen is just too goody, goody for me.

  9. Kiara Loves Miley And Demi Says:

    i never read cosomo girl isnt that how u spell it but thats a cutte picture of miley on it lol

  10. kelllllllllay Says:

    OMFG NOOOOOOOOOOOOOO
    i loooove that magazine!

    shkfhjgfhgdsuofveirufghuirdhls

    ugh i’m so pissed off!!!!
    but i do agree with jillian.
    the past few ones were really short and had like nothing good.
    but seriously i still loooooooooove it

  11. Bonnie Says:

    I liked that magazine a lot. :/ I’m subscribed to Seventeen and TeenVogue as well, but I’m still upset it was cancelled. I thought Seventeen was a little more mature than Cosmogirl, but I still thought it was cute, and they had neat little fashion spreads with fashions I could actually AFFORD. I think it’s sad.

  12. Creg Says:

    Hi my name is Creg.

    How is everybody?

  13. Creg Says:

    TO MY FANS:

    A BIG thank you! =D

  14. Creg Says:

    I am a genius.

    But the question is, Are you what you think or are you what

    you don’t think. Ponder that.

    -Creg

  15. Lena Says:

    NOOOO! :((

    I looove that magazine <‘3

  16. katiiie bby Says:

    my favorite magazine is teen vogue anyway. ahaha

    CosmoGirl gives a lot of false information
    & teen vogue doesn’t focus on Gossip gossip gossip, they focus more on fashion ahahah. (:

    and seventeen is alrighttt.

  17. andreaaa Says:

    i dont like cosmo girl much
    ill stick to Teen Vouge, or Seventeen πŸ™‚

  18. Marissa Says:

    really?!?! dang i love cosmogirl!

  19. melissa duh! Says:

    mad.
    loved cosmo.
    oh well 17 is good too.

  20. Meganβ™₯ Says:

    Awww thats sucks 😦

  21. Marissa Says:

    I like 17 too though!

  22. megan Says:

    OMG that sucks.

  23. me Says:

    it’s cancelled b/c miley’s on the cover lol.

  24. xoraeeee Says:

    I never cared for cosmogirl anyway.

  25. Kelly Says:

    nooo . i just renewed my subscription for that =/ aww

  26. SELENA GOMEZ FUCKING ROCKS. Says:

    NOOOOO ):
    i LOVE cosmogirl ):

  27. Twilighter Says:

    WTF I SUBSRICBED TO THAT THIS MONTH I BETTER GET MY MONEY BACK OR ELSE!!!

  28. :D Says:

    HOLY SHIT IM MAD.
    I JUST RENEWWED MY SUBSCRIPTION.
    IF I DONT GET MY MONEY BACK SHIT IS HITTING THE FAN,

  29. melani Says:

    Aww cute Miley,she’s the best

  30. melani Says:

    About time oceanup started putting better pics of her up

  31. Diana Says:

    nooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo

  32. Brittany Says:

    i don’t read cosmogirl anyway.
    i love seventeen. (:

  33. courtney Says:

    wow
    thats not a flattering picture of miley
    they could’ve done a better cover
    she looks 5
    the 17 photo shoot was better.

  34. Kelsey-MileyFan4Evah! Selena. Haterr Says:

    that is shit
    i subscribe to that magazine!
    i loved it!
    im sooo mad!
    and i already subscribe to seventeen magazine!
    SHIT!
    why did they do thaat?!!!?

  35. Person (team everyone bby) Says:

    thats an old pic…but honestly i don’t really care =)

  36. nessaisawhore07 Says:

    nooooo man o man, am subscribed to cosmogirl!!!
    this sucks, i hope its just a lie.

  37. cassie Says:

    there closing the magizne cause they put miley on the cover

  38. mrs. nick jonas Says:

    im soo SAD!!!
    i’ve been reading cosmogirl since i was 8!!! lol
    i have stopped a little while, being that i just started hs and barely have time for it anymore, but now im going to go back to it until the last issue!!!!

  39. BryonyluvsJoeJonas Says:

    im from UK, but i get this magazine cos they ship it from USA. most of the magazines in UK are shit 😦

    now there will be nothing left for me to read :(:(

  40. sarahjuana Says:

    so?
    I like teen vogue
    and other mags about fashion and celebs news
    cosmo girl is ew.

  41. maddie Says:

    http://hollytauntes.com celebrity news there

  42. Ann Says:

    is this cover old? miley looks like a fuckin 7 year old.

  43. whatever. Is a Miley Fan (: Says:

    is this cover old? miley looks like a fuckin 7 year old.

    ~~~
    yeah it’s old. I don’t remember exactly when though.

    oh, well. that sucks i guess?

  44. lovejonas143 Says:

    i love this magazine so much why would they cancel it?

  45. Shawnee Says:

    Who the fuck reads CosmoGirl anyway? Cosmopolitan is my bible πŸ™‚

  46. Emz Says:

    … I don’t really read the magazine.
    BUT I HOPE THEY MAGICALLY KEEP THE SITE OPEN.
    They have a JB section and sooo many quizzes. 😦

  47. I_I Says:

    fuck selena gome\

  48. BAHHMMM Says:

    NOO ARE YOU KIDDING ME THATS MY FAVIORTE MAGAZINE DAMNET

  49. mary Says:

    i never liked this magazine. it’s always perverted. i DO like the clothes featured, though.

  50. Julia:) Says:

    Awe, thats sad..

  51. Jessica Says:

    ahh im mad this was my favorite magazine to read!!

  52. d..... Says:

    omg i subscribed in a fundraiser and it had seventeen and Cosmo girl shit

  53. britney Says:

    aww man i ove cosmogirl i subcribe to it there better give me all my 10 magzines.
    btw seventeen is WAY beter though.
    :[

  54. bela Says:

    no body cares about this little girl thats tring to be a woman and date a man…pathetic miley

  55. tiffany Says:

    i just got a subscription >3 …

  56. degrassi Says:

    miley had that shirt on when she performed G.N.O at DC games

  57. DemiOwnsMiley Says:

    i’m not mad,
    but i have a subscription!

    they better gimme my money back :p

  58. NICKJHIATUS Says:

    ok so i have seventeen and cosmogirl! i like seventeen more but wat will happen for the ppl with the subscriptions?!?! i already got seventeen so i dont want that subscription again

  59. Rachel R. Says:

    NO!!! I love CosmoGirl so much more then Seventeen. This stinks!

  60. Sho.mo:] Says:

  61. yerrEG0isPREGG0;x3 Says:

    AHH NO! cosmo girl is better than seventeen!

  62. Sophie Says:

    That sucks. I called the other day about a problem and they said it was going to be canceled. On the up side i get an extended sub. to seventeen! till 2012!

  63. XxCosmofanxX Says:

    if u look at the pic it has
    MARCH 2008 as the date
    so yeahh its an old pic cos its an old issue

Leave a Reply

